Choosing Your Path, Will Make You Happy

I know this article might sound too serious, hmm that’s a no and a yes. But before we break in, if you haven’t read my previous article about how to make money online, I have tried to convince my self by applying everything I’ve learned so far about the things that could make a living on the internet, please do check here.

Well, i’m not an expert on career advice or even this article is not really about career although the word itself will be written my times just for a terminology. I could write everything I wanna say about my experiences on the topic but due to my limitation in writing as a newbie, I guess I need to cut it down to keep you out of boredom.

What Do I mean About the PATH?

My title “Choosing your path, will make you happy” a short description and advice from what I’ve learned in life. A “how to be a successful professional person” I think could be a next thing to tackle here. Please bear with me as I extract everything I remember and everything I could think about choosing one’s path.

How to have a good career from A dreamer boy

On my grade school, I was really amazed and puzzled how computer works. That time, computer runs on a huge hard drive with a size of 16MB, crazy right? It’s not even a standard of a USB drive today. My teacher Ranjel is computer guru that time, and he’s been teaching us what can people do with computer and what would those computer do on the future. What really tickled my ears is when he said that people will be able to write to the computer using a wired pen writing on the screen. I said “wow!” that is awesome!, I want to try that!. Until that triggered my day dreaming to be a technologist or a person who do computers.

After school I immediately ask my older cousins what course should I take to make a computer or know them. They said I need to take “computer engineering” because computer engineers make computers and other stuff related to it. So from that on, I said to myself “I want to be a computer engineer” (although puzzled what could those words mean). Other told me, that for me to pass that course, I need to be a math guru. But I hate math, man! I had no choice but to strive to pass that subject. Until I went to college and successfully passed my entrance exams to take the course of my dreams.

To make the long story short, I passed my bachelors degree in computer engineering and my family were very proud. Of course I am too and thankful enough that I had finished my studies! But during my college days, I never went only to study the majors and minors but I did went to vocational course like ‘computer technician’. By then, I know how to fix computers and printers and in a contrast to my batch mates, only few of them knows what I can do. The point is, the vocational course is very important is it will compliment my degree in specializing computers.

Pardon my long student stories, but I just wanted to share how my thinking and dream guided me to what I am now. I don’t want to brag it but since I’m a Linux administrator in a consulting company now, I think my past just lead me to happiness that I have chosen my path to the career I want. And I know most of you are doing well on your job and profession and better than me, but we all know that before you had those job and skills, sacrifice came first.

 

A guide in choosing your ideal career

In information and technology career, choosing a path is way too broad. You need to really choose a specific specialty in order to achieve a high standard skill and high paying job. If you are working your first job on a low paying position, that’s okay. Do not let other’s influence to get a high paying job right away. I tell you, that’s not a good thinking and good move man! Unless you are a super nerd that has super brain I think you can fit to the requirements. But, there are things that many new professionals are doing wrong on their pattern of work and career.

As we are going to be deep on this, please have in mind that what I’m telling you is not forcing you to do it but giving you input according to what I have experienced. So please keep on reading if you really mind your career.

There are do’s and don’ts that I have learned when choosing your paths (I’m referring to work and attitude).

 

DO’s

  1. Know your dream
  2. Make a plan
  3. Walk on the path
  4. Look back

Let me elaborate those short words.

Know your dream means always have in mind what path you really want and not just a peer pressure and following what the trend is. Orientation and career advisory is really needed here. You need to know what you really love and know the things that ‘you will in long-term do’. And that dream should be conceptualized by your imaginations and research. This is your foundation, so let it be a good one. Do not let others destroy it but you will need to convince them and let them know that you can do it.

Make a plan is simply know every details of the required preparations and things to have and things to throw away. Always consider everything, I mean when it comes to God, yourself, future family, business, and wealth.  Think like this, “will this really work with them?”, or “how will I connect everything for them”. Plan like an engineer, they make plan A, plan B, downfall plan, and backup plans. All it means is do not just plan for one, but many so that you will be ready in any circumstances.

Walk on the path. If you already have a dream, and a plan, don’t try to waste it. Be a man! Mind your words and trust that It will work. If you do it with your heart and look ahead, that path will be brighter and brighter. You just need to walk on it and do not worry and let the fears come first. Sometimes, fear of doing a change or jumping on the next level is what people are have a hard time. So I tell you, just do it.

Look back. After achieving that dream, went on your plan, and walked straight to your goals, don’t forget to look back and remember what you have been. This will make you stronger, because you learned a lot in the past, you don’t want to repeat mistakes. Or you want to remember the successful times you did that made you well today. And the more you know your past (I’m talking about your path), you will then use it as your weapon and gift to the new generations.

Now we go to

DON’Ts.

  1. Do not quit. Actually this will be my only DON’Ts for you. I think this brings everything in one in contrast to my DOs. Right?

 

Conclusion

So as my conclusion, whenever you feel lost or down on your chosen career or path, always remember that you thought of it or you have chosen it. Be sure to consider everything I said here, I do not mean harm from it. I just want to make sure you put on right decision for yourself and don’t repeat mistakes like I had and others had. Be thankful on what you have and be contented. But never give up and stay stagnant, be dynamic and cheerful learning new things and always pushing forward.

If you have any other good suggestions and better experience than this, please do write on the comments. All ideas are welcome here. 🙂

Please also correct me if I have made wrong advice here. Thank you.

 

 

Leave a Reply

